10 Replies Latest reply: Feb 12, 2014 6:39 AM by Bas de Klerk RSS

Wiered Problem in For Loop in a PLSQL Process

KRISH1979

Apex version : 4.2.3

Database: 11gR2

Browser : chrome

Hello Friends,

One last thing which remains before I can conclude my first project in APEX. Need your help to crack this funny but annoying problem.

I have a master detail form in my application. In Detail section, I am performing some calculations by calling a process as follows:

Lets say there are 5 columns in my detail section. I am calculating value of 5th column based on Value of 1st and 3rd column. All this happens in loop. Code is as follows:

for i in 1 ..apex_application.g_f12.count

loop

apex_application.g_f14(i) := apex_application.g_f10(i)*(apex_application.g_f12((i))/100)*apex_application.g_f13(i);

end loop;

If N = number of Rows in my table then this for loop seems to be working for N-1 rows. Which means :

If I am starting fresh and I entered only 1 detail record, it would mean nothing will happen (N=1 and 1-1 = 0).

If I now Add one more detail record then the code gets executed for 1st record that I had entered but nothing happens to the new row because now N=2 and N-1 = 1.

It doesnt end here. If anytime I enter more than 1 record (2,3,4 .....) Everything works perfect for all the records!

The problem really seem to be when I enter only 1 record in detail section either as first record or as subsequent update records. One final observcation is, if I appen an empty row after making my entries, things will work perfect.

Has anyone faced this? Seems to be some silly mistake but unable to crack it.

• 1. Re: Wiered Problem in For Loop in a PLSQL Process
          Joe Upshaw

The apex array start at position 0 rather than 1. I think that is your entire issue.

This is always safer (Will not break if interleaving positions in the array are empty):

for i in apex_application.g_f12.first..apex_application.g_f12.last