3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2014 12:52 PM by Danny*D201

Apex maturity so which is better? - open discussion

Gor_Mahia

All,

I've used Apex for a while now but was curious to know some of the critical new features in Apex 5.0 and from little information i obtained its like 5.0 is really powerful and perfectly fit the the shoe to be a good candidate for Enterprise based tool. Now which is better if you are implementing a robust Enterprise application between Apex and ADF/Jdeveloper ?

The main reason i am asking this is due to the fact that my Team has 2 parts APEX group and ADF group, as expected ADF we mainly use for large enterprise based appl and i was thinking of moving towards ADF (also more ADF jobs out there) however iam sarcastic about the switch because i see Apex capable of doing it all within shorter time.

regards

• 1. Re: Apex maturity so which is better?
          vincent_deelen

Hi,

As an Apex developer I probably have a biased opinion, but I'd say Apex can be very suitable for an enterprise application. I've developed a number of business critical applications for large user groups and I must say that Apex was the right tool in those cases.

One challenge that I find with Apex is co-developing with a group of people. Apex has some tools (such as the team development) to help you, but it has no subversion or something like that. So working in unison is per agreement and works fine when working with a small team, but will be a challenge, or at least something to plan, when working with a big team of developers.

As far as ADF concerned, I can't tell you much about the pros and cons of that. All I know is that I've not yet faced a technical problem which could not be tackled in Apex.

It might be helpful to post this same question in the ADF forum as well, to get a complete picture.

Regards,

Vincent

http://vincentdeelen.blogspot.com

• 2. Re: Apex maturity so which is better?
            Joni Vandenberghe

Hi,