2 Replies Latest reply: Feb 23, 2014 1:24 PM by Nicolette RSS

how i get data from table using json in oracle pl/sql

user1_apex Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

My need is to get data from oracle table using JSON and show output at html table. I'm very new to JSON (got some experience in PL/SQL and basic html knowledge). Could someone direct me to manual or give me simple example?

• 1. Re: how i get data from table using json in oracle pl/sql
    Denes Kubicek Oracle ACE Director

This example shows how to get a json string in a background on demand process and how to insert the data into a select list:

https://apex.oracle.com/pls/apex/f?p=31517:316

You requirement is a bit strange. An interactive report is what you are looking at. Are there any special requirements there for using a HTML table?

Denes Kubicek

-------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------

• 2. Re: how i get data from table using json in oracle pl/sql
    Nicolette Expert

User1_apex

JSON isn't a programming language but rather an standard to transmit data objects consisting of attribute value pairs. For a better explenation see wikipedia or Introducing JSON from Douglas Crockford.

In Denes Kubicek's example the pl/sql function apex_util.json_from_sql returns the following string:

{"row":[{"EMPNO":7876,"ENAME":"ADAMS"},{"EMPNO":7499,"ENAME":"ALLEN"},{"EMPNO":7698,"ENAME":"BLAKE"},{"EMPNO":7782,"ENAME":"CLARK"},{"EMPNO":7902,"ENAME":"FORD"},{"EMPNO":7900,"ENAME":"JAMES"},{"EMPNO":7566,"ENAME":"JONES"},{"EMPNO":7839,"ENAME":"KING"},{"EMPNO":7654,"ENAME":"MARTIN"},{"EMPNO":7934,"ENAME":"MILLER"},{"EMPNO":7788,"ENAME":"SCOTT"},{"EMPNO":7369,"ENAME":"SMITH"},{"EMPNO":7844,"ENAME":"TURNER"},{"EMPNO":7521,"ENAME":"WARD"}]}