9 Replies Latest reply: Mar 6, 2014 8:48 AM by jwenting RSS

I am a DBA,new to Java.

i got  call from application team about outof memory.Please check the below one.I couldn't undetstand it.It's related to DB side or application server.

If it's application server,where i need to check the log

org.springframework.transaction.TransactionSystemException: UOWManager transaction processing failed;

nested exception is com.ibm.wsspi.uow.UOWException:

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError at org.springframework.transaction.jta.WebSphereUowTransactionManager.

execute(WebSphereUowTransactionManager.java:288) at org.springframework.transaction.interceptor.TransactionInterceptor.

invoke(TransactionInterceptor.java:127) at org.springframework.aop.framework.ReflectiveMethodInvocation.

proceed(ReflectiveMethodInvocation.java:172) at org.springframework.aop.framework.

Any suggestions

• 1. Re: OutOfMemoryError

Hi. It is related to the application server. There can be a number of reasons for the OutOfMemoryError. There may be a file called javacore.<bunch of numbers>.txt in the server installation directory that you can look into. If the application runs in a WebSphere server, you may also find heap dumps automatically generated there.

Do take a look at 2 solution of  java.lang.OutOfMemoryError in Java under the "Tools to investigate and fix OutOfMemoryError in Java" section for tools to help you with the investigation. You'd want to first find out more what type of OutOfMemoryError it is (e.g., heap space (most common), permgen, thread) before looking for the solution for this error, and so you'd want to skip the earlier sections on the web page.

• 2. Re: OutOfMemoryError

One thing to note is that the code that throws the exception is not necessarily the cause of the problem; it is only the point in the application where the resources ran out. Its really important to use a profiler to see where all the memory is going.

• 3. Re: OutOfMemoryError