7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 26, 2014 1:38 PM by clcarter RSS

RMAN catalog on 11g XE

selflessscoundrel

First off, I am an oracle novice personally, more of a linux administrator myself.  But I am assisting troubleshooting errors with doing RMAN backups of a database.

We are connecting to an Enterprise Edition of Oracle (11.2.0.4.0) to back up the database.  Our recovery catalog is using Oracle 11g Express edition (I think the version number specifically is 11.2.0.2.0)

The backup sends a pretty normal RMAN backup script.  We get the following output from our logs:

Recovery Manager: Release 11.2.0.4.0 - Production on Wed Feb 26 10:17:17 2014

Copyright (c) 1982, 2011, Oracle and/or its affiliates.  All rights reserved.

connected to target database: LIVEDB (DBID=##########)

connected to recovery catalog database

PL/SQL package CATALOG.DBMS_RCVCAT version 11.02.00.02 in RCVCAT database is not current

PL/SQL package CATALOG.DBMS_RCVMAN version 11.02.00.02 in RCVCAT database is not current

RMAN-00571: ===========================================================

RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============

RMAN-00571: ===========================================================

RMAN-03009: failure of allocate command on ch00 channel at 02/26/2014 10:17:19

RMAN-10015: error compiling PL/SQL program

RMAN-10014: PL/SQL error 0 on line 102 column 12: Statement ignored

RMAN-10014: PL/SQL error 302 on line 102 column 24: component 'THROTTLE_ME' must be declared

Recovery Manager complete.

(note - recovery catalog name renamed to CATALOG and target database renamed to LIVEDB to keep things generic)

I'm assuming that the issue is that ORACLE XE has an outdated version of the recovery catalog as compared to the RMAN on the target database (11.2.0.4.0 vs 11.2.0.2).

So, two questions:

1) Is this a version issue as I am guessing, or is there something else going on?