1 Reply Latest reply: Mar 20, 2014 2:17 AM by Franck Pachot RSS

Parallelizing data loads

My company is purchasing an Exadata appliance with 8 nodes for an Online Inquiry application i.e. primary access is account id; each account has one or more transactions. I am the design architect and am new to Exadata even though I have lots of experience with Oracle RAC from some years ago.

Some years ago, In tIn order to fully use all the nodes for parallelization, I remember Oracle best practices once created a metadata table with each row in the table storing an account id range. This metadata table was first used to auto generate the CREATE TABLE partition specs for RANGE on account id. The second use of this metadata table was as follows: For a data loading job, this same table was also read by the middle tier to spawn threads across all the nodes. Each loading thread was directed to load one and only one partition. Say the cluster was 5 nodes and we had 200 account id range partitions. 200/5 = 40 partitions per node. So the middle directs 40 threads per node, each thread loads a single range partition taken from the metadata table. This approach fully paralleizes across all the nodes in the cluster and since each thread loads a single partition there is no contention between two threads.

Does current Exadata make all the above work unnecessary?  For example for a daily load can I load a stage table with daily data and execute a simpel INSERT AS SELECT statement and have EXADATA do all the smarts to parallelize across all the nodes?

Question 2:

Is Exadata smart enough to try achieve thread to partition affinity i.e. will it pay attention to the number of partitions  and make these kind of decisions 200 partititions / 5 nodes = 40 partitions and auto set the degree of parallelism accordingly?  What Oracle manual and/or any white papers can I read to avoid all the manual coding at the middle tier that we used to do years ago as descriobed above?

Willing to learn