3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2014 8:20 PM by GregV

Add Email Job Notification via SQL Developer

Fritz-OC

Hello,

I'm a novice in the Oracle Scheduler space and I have what is likely a novice question.  However, I'm thoroughly turned around after searching and would gladly welcome some help.

I'm using SQLdeveloper to utilize Oracle Scheduler within my schema.

A procedure has been successfully created.  The job which executes the procedure is also successfully configured.

Next I'd like to configure email notification for certain events.

I've found a number of posts regarding the ADD_JOB_EMAIL_NOTIFICATION procedure.

I.e., http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/appdev.112/e25788/d_sched.htm#ARPLS72277

However, I'm having trouble identifying how to get started implementing this within SQL Developer.

Can someone please help with how the ADD_JOB_EMAIL_NOTIFICATION can be implemented within SQL developer?

Another point I want to mention: in a previous prototype, I found a wizard to configure the email notification.  I'm not seeing that now.  Is there a wizard with SQL Developer in which this information can be configured? 

Extremely grateful for any help you can provide.

Thanks - Fritz

• 1. Re: Add Email Job Notification via SQL Developer
          GregV

Hi,

It looks like the email notification is not listed in the SQL Developer's browser.

Anyway, it's failry easy to use the ADD_JOB_EMAIL_NOTIFICATION procedure.

First, you need to setup a mail server:

BEGIN

DBMS_SCHEDULER.set_scheduler_attribute('email_server', 'your_mail_server_address');

END;

/       

Second, just add a notification on some events for your job:

BEGIN

DBMS_SCHEDULER.add_job_email_notification (

job_name   =>  'your_job',

recipients =>  'your_email@your_company.com',

events     =>  'job_started, job_completed');

END;

/

That's all!

You can specify a comma-separated list for the recipients and for the events.