1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply: Apr 22, 2014 9:10 AM by raykdogs RSS

An error occurred while creating an application

raykdogs

Using EPM 11.1.2.3.

I'm attempting to create an classic application.

I created the Database User with all of the grants.

I created a Datasource in EPM.

When I attempt to create the application, it returns "An error occurred while creating the application."

I have searched through all of the log directories and cannot find a single log file that captures the reason for the failure.

The last time this happened, someone mentioned that I should check and make sure all services were running.  I am not quite sure where to look for that on a Linux machine.

I am not sure where else to look, or what else to do.

Any suggestions would be helpful, as I am fairly new to EPM.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: An error occurred while creating an application
          _RahulS_

Have you checked Planning sysout and syserror logs on planning server at:

MIDDLEWARE_HOME/user_project/epmsystem<n>/diagnostics/logs/services

Logs will be at a different location if you have Planning on linux box.

Cheers..!!

Rahul S.

• 2. Re: An error occurred while creating an application
            raykdogs

Rahul,

Thanks for the info.  When you say I should check the log on the application server, I am not sure which server that is.  I have my Essbase server and my database server.  The log files I found are on the Essbase server, however, there is no "services" folder under logs.

Am I missing something?

Thanks again.

• 3. Re: An error occurred while creating an application
              _RahulS_

Check the server where Hyperion Planning is installed.

• 4. Re: An error occurred while creating an application
                raykdogs

Sorry for the confusion.  Hyperion Planning is installed on the same server as Essbase.

Here are the folders I have under ../diagnostics/logs:

config

FoundationServices (empty)

registry

rmi

upgrades

workspace

essbase