1 2 3 Previous Next 41 Replies Latest reply: Jun 24, 2014 6:31 AM by mxallen-Oracle RSS

DG4ODBC connectivety to DB2

Santosh_DBA

Hi All,

I am totally new to Oracle and i need help.

I configured dg4odbc to connect to db2 zos. i am able to run query against db2 table using sqlplus and i can see the results. However, when the odbc application is invoking the results are not populatng on their screen. The application seems to be hunged, however, when I set the trace level to debug I notice that multiple queries are being run and rows returned but these results are not being returned to the application.

i used the following HS parameters, let me know if i am missing something or you need more information to help me.

HS_FDS_CONNECT_INFO = DB2DUD1

HS_FDS_TRACE_LEVEL = DEBUG

HS_FDS_SHAREABLE_NAME = /usr/lib64/libodbc.so

HS_LANGUAGE = AMERICAN_AMERICA.US7ASCII

HS_FDS_TIMESTAMP_MAPPING =CHAR

HS_FDS_SQLLEN_INTERPRETATION=32

HS_NLS_DATE_FORMAT=YYYY-MM-DD

HS_RPC_FETCH_REBLOCKING=OFF

HS_FDS_DELAYED_OPEN=TRUE

HS_RPC_FETCH_SIZE=40000

HS_FDS_FETCH_ROWS=20000

Thanks

Santosh

• 1. Re: DG4ODBC connectivety to DB2
          Mkirtley-Oracle

Hi Santosh,

Could you give an example of the type of query you are running ?   If you are using a 'where' clause or functions against columns then it may be that all the data needs to be pulled back to Oracle for post-processing which is a usual cause of queries appearing to hang.  It is just the time taken for the data to be returned and processed on the Oracle side which can be quite long for large tables.

Do you see the same problem if you set -

HS_FDS_DELAYED_OPEN=FALSE

Which gateway version are you using and on which platform is it running ? What is the application ?  To start could you try from a SQLPLUS session and check what happens there ?

Regards,

Mike

• 2. Re: DG4ODBC connectivety to DB2
            Santosh_DBA

Hi Mike,