3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 28, 2014 7:25 AM by FreddieEssex RSS

Oracle RAC 11gR2

saad_dba

Dear Gurus,

I am relatively new to RAC clusters and was hoping someone could help me out here... 

We have an oracle RAC 11gr2 running on a 3 node cluster (all in an enclosure, Cluster interconnect running on infiniband switches ).

We want to replace the running machines with new ones, also replacing the infiniband with passthrough switches. 

My plan was as follows

step 1 - shift the running cluster interconnect to ethernet interface and offload the infiniband switches

step 2 - add the oracle software prepared new machines/nodes to the running cluster

step 3 - remove the old machines from the cluster (deletenode script)

step 4 - Install the passthrough switches and shift the cluster interconnect to passthrough interface.

Is this plan ok? perhaps a better approach is also possible?

I also have a couple of questions for RAC..

1. Shifting the current cluster interconnect to local Interface...... I have total of 2 Ethernet ports per blade both in one bonded interface, the oracle public network is running here... Can I shift the cluster interconnect onto the same bonded interface? or am I required to have  a different Ethernet port?

2. While preparing the new machines to add to the running cluster, Am I required to have the SAME GRID and DB version? Or only the same GRID version ?

- current versions are 11.2.0.1 for both grid and DB. Can I add machines to this cluster which have the same grid version (11.2.0.1) but a newer db version (11.2.0.3) ?

Thanks

Saad

• 1. Re: Oracle RAC 11gR2
          FreddieEssex

Hi,

I'm not sure I fully understand your plan.  You just want to shift your existing RAC to new nodes?  Is dataguard a consideration?

ie setup dataguard from existing to new.

Activate standby.

Test to ensure everything works okay.

Once you're happy recreate the standby and activate for real.