12 Replies Latest reply: May 8, 2014 3:42 PM by budachst RSS

How to backup and restore a VM guest using OS commands

User13493023-Oracle

In OVM 3.2. Storage is ZFS. I have a VM guest of which I need to take a "gold" copy.

This is a demo environment so after each demo I need to get the VM guest to its original state, using the "gold" copy.

Unfortunately I can't use snapshot technology (many other VM on the same volume) and therefore I have to use OS commands to backup and restore.

I am a newbie at this so bear with me; I need detailed steps on how to proceed to map my VM Id to the disk/directory/fs (???) that I need to backup and restore.

Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: How to backup and restore a VM guest using OS commands
          budachst

Using ZFS or not, doesn't actually matter here, since ZFS will be transparent to OVM. To obtain a "gold" copy of your VM, you'd make a clone or better yet, a template of it, once you have finished configuring it. This will provide you with an option to create fresh clones from that template using OVM Manager.

• 2. Re: How to backup and restore a VM guest using OS commands
            user12273962

Why can't you use a snap shot? You can create snaps at the share or LUN level with ZFS. Export the snap to a share and do whatever to your virtual disk.

You could also create LUN/Share (I personally would use NFS) just for this VM.... then snap away. Roll backs will only affect that repo. ZFS is the boom....

• 3. Re: How to backup and restore a VM guest using OS commands
              budachst

Nobody has to argue with me about ZFS being the most advanced fs on this planet… I was merely pointing out the on-board tools of OVMM, since most people tend to have enought to cope with the concepts, when starting with OVM in the first place…

• 4. Re: How to backup and restore a VM guest using OS commands
                User13493023-Oracle