5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 17, 2014 6:17 AM by jwenting RSS

New to Java

f8dced57-a755-4501-8e29-94230a0c7fc0

I Have a bsc in IT and want to learn Java. I am wondering wether I should do this through a masters or directly through oracle. I want to do self study as the course prices are quite high. I think they work out more than doing a masters for me. my aim is to work in a large corporation that are constantly hiring programmers. Where do I start! I am assuming OCA? What are the best materials to use? Can I buy them from Oracle? I also heard that for some of the courses it's compulsory to do their courses?

any advice would be appreciated.

thanks.

• 1. Re: New to Java
          jwenting

OCA is not intended to teach you Java, but to test whether you know Java to a certain standard.

The certification requirements are a nice list to use to check whether you know your stuff, but don't expect to learn Java just by cramming some certification guide.

• 2. Re: New to Java
            vinaykumar2

well pick any good java book. using OCA you can check ur knowledge.

Read cathy siera nd java effective books to learn java well

• 3. Re: New to Java
              vinaykumar2

well i will also suggest you to do MCA. Having knowledge is equally important to have degree.so dnt sacrifice your degree

• 4. Re: New to Java
                wizzle

I think you should go for the master's degree.

It's for the long term. It will make you more resilient to changes in computing that will come for sure.

And do it while you're at it. Doing it later will be much harder.