1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply: Jun 10, 2014 10:42 PM by Nhuy Van RSS

Eclipse does not recognize "Default Method keyword" and "Lamda expression"

Nhuy Van

Hi guys, I just started learning Java, so I don't know much about it. I have this very annoying issue with Eclipse (I have the latest version installed). For some reason, every time I use the "default" keyword in an interface, it gives me an error similar to "Syntax error on token default",  I deleted the "default" keyword, the error is gone. The same thing happens with "Lamda expression as well", say I have this object like this Actions myActions = () -> {System.out.print("Blah blah blah");};   , Eclipse also displays the error message similar to "Method body expected after (), delete '->' ". I checked the Java version I have, it is the latest one also, I don't know what it's wrong here, any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your time and help.

• 1. Re: Eclipse does not recognize "Default Method keyword" and "Lamda expression"
          gimbal2

Don't just post a description and singular snippets of the code - post the actual code. And don't post a description of the error, post the error.

• 2. Re: Eclipse does not recognize "Default Method keyword" and "Lamda expression"
            rp0428

Java 1.5 does NOT support the DEFAULT keyword or lamda expressions.

I'm just guessing what Java version you are using since you didn't post:

1. The Java version your code is using

2. The Eclipse version

3. The Java version Eclipse is using

4. Your code

5. The actual error and stacktrace you are getting

Without that all anyone can do is 'guess'.

• 3. Re: Eclipse does not recognize "Default Method keyword" and "Lamda expression"
              Nhuy Van

SORRY, FOR SOME REASON, I AM NOT ALLOWED TO ATTACHE IMAGES, SO I HAD TO COPY AND PASTE EVERYTHING TO HERE

ECLIPSE VERSION NUMBER I HAVE

Version: Kepler Service Release 2

Build id: 20140224-0627