3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 27, 2014 5:03 PM by Roadling RSS

Need help documenting value_ID in table_A of a record inserted into table_B

jennis512

Hi everyone. I just joined the community and I need some advice. I am a college student studying computer science going into my sophomore year, so my understanding of SQL is mediocre at best. I am working with apex, I have a tabular form where the user can add records. I created a button and added dynamic action, where upon clicking the button, I have apex execute pl/sql code:

INSERT INTO table_B (value_ID, value_A, value_B, value_C)

SELECT sequence.NEXTVAL, value_A, value_B, value_C

FROM table_A

WHERE condition LIKE '%so and so%';

After the code, table_B now has value_ID. I need to take that value_ID and insert it back into table_A for reference purposes.

I was using (and I know its wrong) the following code

UPDATE table_A

SET value_ID = (SELECT MAX(value_id)

FROM table_B)

WHERE condition LIKE ‘%so and so%’;

This pulls the maximum value each and every time and re-updates all records. So if I inserted one record (value_ID 100), and then inserted three more records, instead of having 100,101,102,103, all value_ID’s are displayed as 103. I need to document inserted ID for each record so it corresponds with the ID in table_B

Is there a way I can do this?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Need help documenting value_ID in table_A of a record inserted into table_B
          Paul Broughton

Hi,

I'm sorry but it is a little unclear to me exactly what you are trying to do.  My suggestion would be that you use a trigger for this, that way every time a row is inserted into table_b the trigger will fire and either insert a new row or update a row in table_a.  Try something like:

create or replace trigger table_b_trg
          after insert on table_b
          for each row begin
            update table_a
            set value_id = :new.value_id
          WHERE condition LIKE ‘%so and so%’;