8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 1, 2014 3:00 PM by Levi Pereira RSS

Oracle RAC Extended

Neo-b

Hello All,

I am currently having Oracle RAC 11gR2 2 nodes with ASM. This is my primary site.

I am studying the option to implement Oracle RAC extended on a 2nd site. in which my design will be Oracle RAC extended with 2 nodes on primary site and 2 nodes on secondary site.

Should I re-implement the current Oracle RAC on my primary site to support RAC extended? in case i am using Oracle RAC extended with ASM ? or with VPLEX?

Regards,

• 1. Re: Oracle RAC Extended
          Salman Qureshi

Hello,

You certainly need to redesign your RAC to have it extended. You need to have storage accessible in remote side, private interchangeability and several other things. Theoretically it is just like adding a new node (on remote site) to the RAC to make it extended RAC, but actually it is not this much simple.

Following white paper should help you understand the extended RAC,

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/products/clustering/overview/extendedracversion11-435972.pdf

Salman

• 2. Re: Oracle RAC Extended
            Hemant K Chitale

You are going from 2 nodes to 2+2 nodes.  What will be the usage of the 2 nodes at the secondary site ?

Have you considered and rejected DataGuard as a failover option ?

Hemant K Chitale

• 3. Re: Oracle RAC Extended
              Neo-b

Yes I considered Dataguard,

I am studying all my High availability options and one of them is Extended RAC. so i am checking its advantage and disadvantages.

Regards,

• 4. Re: Oracle RAC Extended
                BPeaslandDBA

How far away is the second site?

If this is for HA, then normally the cost of a low latency, high speed network between the sites is enough to eliminate Extended RAC from consideration. Also, you will have to add in the cost of the shared storage in two locations. All of this screams "hardware $$$$". Whereas Data Guard doesn't have these high costs.

Cheers,
                Brian