as long as the consumer will be in that role, you should think at it as a kind of read-only replica that can be updated only from a master. Any write operation will in fact be redirected (through the referral) to the masters of the topology.
If you want to delete one entry you need to reconnect the replication and delete the entry on the master server.
BEWARE: there is a 'time window' a replica can be left out of the replication topology and automatically catch-up with the updates:
The default is one week, after that you need to perform a re-initialization of the consumer replica.
You have many options depending on the 'environment' (rest of the DS topology, applications interacting with LDAP, etc...) and how you would like to move forward.
If you completely disable the replication (and basically put back this Directory Server instance in "single instance" mode), then the answer is yes: after you will be able to delete the entry; but that will prevent you from bringing the DS instance back into your current replication topology (you will need to re-initialize the instance from a master in the topology).