9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2014 11:34 PM by 2725222

Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Window 8.1 64 bit? I cannot get it to start up.

This is my first time on this forum, so forgive my naiveté please.

Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Windows 8.1 64 bit?  I cannot get it to start up.  The splash screen comes up, the progress bar moves about 10% of the way, and everything then just shuts down. 
      The first time I received the Java path prompt and successfully input that before it shut down).

What I have tried:

Running from DOS command window sqldeveloper.exe, sqldeveloper64.exe, sqldeveloperw.exe, and others directly from the sqldeveloper/bin directory both normally and as administrator - to no avail.

I have SQL Developer 4.0.2 running on my Windows 7 work compute fine.  My new work-at-home computer is where I'm having the problem.

I'm stumped on what to do next.  Any direction or help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

• 1. Re: Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Window 8.1 64 bit? I cannot get it to start up.
          thatJeffSmith-Oracle

Find your application data directory for sql developer and delete it. A bad file there is responsible for most of these 'freeze at 10-20%' startup problems.

• 2. Re: Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Window 8.1 64 bit? I cannot get it to start up.
            Galo Balda

What Java version is the one you used? Try downloading the SQL Developer package that includes the JDK?

• 3. Re: Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Window 8.1 64 bit? I cannot get it to start up.
              Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Windows 8.1 64 bit?  I cannot get it to start up.

Post the full version of the JDK you are using. Is that the ONLY JDK on that machine?

Check the environment variables. From a command window execute: SET PATH and post the path

From that same command windows execute: JAVAC -version and post the results.

• 4. Re: Does SQL Developer 4.0.2 run on Window 8.1 64 bit? I cannot get it to start up.