2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2014 12:40 PM by 2739116

Migration from MySQL to Oracle SQL not working

Hello everybody,

I'm new to Oracle SQL but since our MySQL database is growing and getting slower I would like to test the performance of Oracle SQL.

So I downloaded the current Oracle Linux distro and installed Oracle Database 11g Express Edition on it.

I logged in with Oracle SQL Developer and started to migrate the MySQL database by following each step in this tutorial.

I had to give all privileges to the migration user (otherwise the creation and deleteion of the migration repository didn't worked) and I deactivated the migration of constraints to make the migration work.

So I proceeded through all the steps of the tutorial and ended with a "migration successfull".

The last step in the tutorial was to login to the migrated db (using a generated username/password combination), this was not possible.

What did I already checked?

• Logged in as the system user, I see that there's no new user created for the migrated db
      • Looking at the overview in the migration repository I can see 3 phases, not knowing if the third is showing an error or if it is not needed at all (I had 58 tables in the source db)
        • Capture 58/58
        • Convert 58/58
        • Compile 0/58

From here on I do not know where to look for further errors.

I still cannot use the migrated db and so I cannot proceed with my tests.

Did I miss a something?

I'd appreciate your help.

Astaldo

• 1. Re: Migration from MySQL to Oracle SQL not working
          Dermot ONeill-Oracle

Hi Astaldo,

First you should use SQL Developer 4.0.2 if you are not already. Its available for free on OTN

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/developer-tools/sql-developer/downloads/index-098778.html

There are two ways to convert tables from MySQL to Oracle.

1) Copy To Oracle

2) Migration To Oracle.