5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2014 12:06 PM by René van Wijk

HTTPS not working after enabling SSL port

ChrisJunior

Hello,

This is my first time trying to use HTTPS with any weblogic apps and I'm having some trouble.. We have a web application that's deployed on one of my WebLogic servers. Inside this application is a call to a webservice hosted by a seperate application. Recently they made this other application HTTPS, so we've had to change our webservice call to point to the new HTTPS address. For some reason in the logs we're getting the below error:

<Dec 3, 2014 9:40:00 AM EST> <Warning> <Security> <BEA-090477> <Certificate chain received from [URL] - [URL IP] was not trusted causing SSL handshake failure.>

I read an article somewhere saying that we need to enable HTTPS on the Weblogic server that's hostign the app.. Doesn't make sense to me, but I decided to try it anyways. I enabled the SSL ports on the managed server, restarted it, and tried to access it. Nothing. I get an "Internet Cannot Display this webpage" error. If I change the address back to http and use the non-ssl port it's working.. I'm just trying to test this out so I'm using the Demo certs and stuff that's included by default.

Anyone have any idea what I could be doing wrong? Do I need to even anable the SSL ports to talk to an external applicatin that's using HTTPS?

• 1. Re: HTTPS not working after enabling SSL port
          ChrisJunior

I did some more digging in the logs and found this <Notice> farther up in the logs:

The loading of the trusted certificate list raised a certificate parsing exception PKIX: Unsupported OID in the
          AlgorithmIdentifier object

What on earth does this even mean?

• 2. Re: HTTPS not working after enabling SSL port
            AnatoliAtanasov

Hi Chris,

as your application (managed server) acts as a web service client, you

have to import the web service's server certificate in your managed