14 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2015 9:31 PM by Gianni Ceresa

Top 1o filter

Hi Gurus, i'm new to OBIEE world. in the below screen shot i have all employees with total expenses.But the report title is top 10 employee spend.How to add the filter which shows only top 10 employees with expenses.

Report1.PNG

Thanks in advance

R

• 1. Re: Top 1o filter
          Gianni Ceresa

Hi,

You can do it in Selection Steps:

Capture.PNG

On your employee number add a new step, select "apply a condition", condition type is "top 10 based on X", and then just set your params.

(action = keep only, operator = is top, rank = 10, measure = your "Total expenses" measure)

• 2. Re: Top 1o filter
            Gianni Ceresa

Second option:

add a filter on a column with this formula: RANK("your column with the expense")

and the condition of your filter is "is less than or equal to" and value is 10.

Capture.PNG

• 3. Re: Top 1o filter
              Gianni Ceresa

Third option:

Add a column using the TOPN function: TopN("your column with the expense", 10).

It will implicitly filter and display only the TOP10.

Capture.PNG

The order of options isn't the one from the best to the worst options, just to give you options ....

I would leave the Selection Steps as last option because it's filtered by the BI Server and the DB will still return you to full list.

• 4. Re: Top 1o filter

Giana, Thanks for the update.I already tried 2nd & 3rd options.the below are results.

there is dollar sign on the expenses field at the column data format for ex: $10,000

Options.PNG

Thanks

R

• 5. Re: Top 1o filter
                  Gianni Ceresa

Please, tell me you don't really have the dollar sign in the column value itself but that it's just in the column format, right?

Total expense is supposed to be a measure, just a number, nothing else ...

So if it's the case and it's a normal measure the format adding the dollar sign has no impact on the result as it's a number.

• 6. Re: Top 1o filter