1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 27, 2015 9:02 PM by rp0428

Can i reset sys connection to out of the box, without the database i imported?

Hi all,

I'm a beginner with SQL Developer and have never used it before, but during my placement I was basically a guinea pig when it came to moving the database off the vm to make it on the local machine. I followed all the steps and had completed it successfully, including importing the data from the vm's database. However, I realised i made a mistake when importing as i had been using SYSTEM instead of SYS, and though i had imported to SYS, the table spaces and other users i had set up were under SYSTEM. However it still seemed to work.

I then started to set up bcc locally and tried to do a full deployment, however i got the error of missing view or tablespace which i assume was to do with this. SO silly me, but i deicde to just go in and edit the connection, making it point to SYS instead of system, which basically copied the database over. However it's still not working, after several long days of fiddling and I've been working on it so long that i just want to completely revert everything back to how it was before i had touched and/or ruined everything. Any help on deleting what i've done would be great, as just unistalling sql developer 4.1 doesn't make a different as as soon as i reconnect to SYS, it still has all the table spaces and other users that i had created previously.

Regards,

Becca

• 1. Re: Can i reset sys connection to out of the box, without the database i imported?
          However, I realised i made a mistake when importing as i had been using SYSTEM instead of SYS, and though i had
           imported to SYS, the table spaces and other users i had set up were under SYSTEM. However it still seemed to work.

I don't follow you.

You should NEVER create objects in either the SYSTEM or SYS schemas. NEVER! NEVER! Did I mention you should NEVER do that?