10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2016 2:04 AM by Gary Graham-Oracle

SQL Developer..um.. opportunities

6String

Hello, I've been using SQL Developer constantly for a couple of years and have noted many issues with its functionality. 

An Oracle rep onsite told me the SQL Developer PM reads this community board.  Is that true?  What is the proper forum for end-user DBAs to report enhancement opportunities or bugs in SQL Developer?

I have about 20 items I've been documenting, and I'll provide one of them here:

17) SQL Developer ignores the preference setting for default directory for sql files.  It also never remembers the directory you were last in when you open files.  The default directory is always C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\SQL Developer\system4.1.3.20.78\o.sqldeveloper.12.2.0.20.78\projects.  Frustrating to have to navigate to the dir you're working in every time you need to open a SQL file.

Humbly,

• 1. Re: SQL Developer..um.. opportunities
          6String

Ok I'll back off from never remembers the folder it opened last.  Most of the time it does not, I'd say 90% of the time or more it does not.

• 2. Re: SQL Developer..um.. opportunities
            Gary Graham-Oracle

In your first image, note that the preference setting applies only to the Worksheet's run script syntax:

@myscript

In the second image, note that some recently used folders do actually appear along the left edge Open dialog. Selecting one of those is fairly convenient.

• 3. Re: SQL Developer..um.. opportunities
              thatJeffSmith-Oracle

Yes, it's true.

That preference isn't what you think it is.

It tells us where to look for scripts when you do

@script.sql --F5 in a worksheet.