3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2016 8:50 PM by Kyle {unique}

Hello,

Ritah Nfamba

Hello,

I'm new to Oracle Database and I am failing to have a database connection on my laptop.

I recently installed Oracle SQL developer on my mac air but I'm getting an error message whenever I try to make a basic database connection.  May I please get some help?

***Moderator action (Timo): moved from Community Feedback (No Product Questions) to SQL Developer ***

• 1. Re: Hello,
          EdStevens

Ritah Nfamba wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Oracle Database and I am failing to have a database connection on my laptop.

I recently installed Oracle SQL developer on my mac air but I'm getting an error message whenever I try to make a basic database connection.  May I please get some help?

***Moderator action (Timo): moved from Community Feedback (No Product Questions) to SQL Developer ***

Welcome to the forum.

Have you actually installed a database on your machine?  SQL Developer is just a front-end client program.

If you got an error message, why not share it?

For future reference:

1) please post in the specific forum that seems to best align with your issue

2) use a short subject line that gives an indication of your issue.  Trying to pack the full explanation is too much, but simply saying "hello" is really too little.

• 2. Re: Hello,
            Gary Graham-Oracle

SQL Developer is a productivity tool and acts as a database client.  It does not include a database, and the Oracle DB does not install natively on Mac, so you either need access to a remote DB, or must install a VM that includes the Oracle DB.

For more help, read through http://www.thatjeffsmith.com/archive/2012/12/i-have-oracle-sql-developer-installed-now-what/

• 3. Re: Hello,
              Kyle {unique}

You'll need several pieces of information.

The name (or IP address) of the server on which your database is set up.  Put this into the field titled "Hostname"