13 Replies Latest reply: Dec 3, 2008 4:41 PM by 673535 RSS

Parameters in SubQuery

HR/Payroll
      Hi,
      I am new to discoverer and i have a doubt. I have a query and within it is a subquery. I want to use a parameter in subquery. The query i want to achive is

select distinct pap.full_name ,papf.payroll_name , pap.employee_number, pap.national_identifier, pap.original_date_of_hire, paf.effective_start_date
      from per_all_people_f pap,
      per_all_assignments_f paf,
           pay_all_payrolls_f papf
      where pap.person_id = paf.person_id
      and paf.payroll_id = papf.payroll_id
      and papf.payroll_name like '%'
      and paf.effective_start_date between '01-JAN-2000' and '31-DEC-4712'
      and not exists (select paf2.effective_start_date from per_all_assignments_f paf2
      where paf2.assignment_id = paf.assignment_id
           and paf2.effective_start_date < '01-JAN-2000'
      and paf2.payroll_id = paf.payroll_id)

How can i map the paf2.effective_date in the desktop version.

papf.payroll_name and paf.effective_start_date can be mapped using parameters since they are in outer select. how do i do the same for paf2.effective_date

TIA
        • 1. Re: Parameters in SubQuery
          BI_Creation
          Believe or not, sub queries are no longer supported in Discoverer.

In previous releases it was possible. But even if you are using a release that allows you to create sub-queries, I don't know if it's a good idea to use it, since discoverer do not support it anymore.

Regards,
          Marcos
          • 2. Re: Parameters in SubQuery
            RussProudman
            Hey Shash. Love seeing the Oracle Apps tables being hit - been there many times!

Unfortunately, you cannot pass any parameters into a query - period.

You're query could return all values and in Disco Desktop / Plus, etc. you could have a condition that limits the data coming back to it with parameters entered by the user ... but in the actual SQL - no way.