4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2017 4:45 PM by Kiran Pawar

How to Setup a RESTful GET to Return/Parse JSON into an APEX Collection

Tony F.

Hi,

Using Oracle APEX v5.1.1.

Firstly, I just want to say that I am new to the whole RESTful web services and so hoping someone can assist me as to whether this is possible and if so, how to implement this within APEX 5.1.1.

I basically have a URL with a parameter, where I can pass an "empno" as a parameter to this URL that will return me a JSON object of all billing details relating to this empno.

What I would like to do and it is this, that I am not familiar with, is whether a RESTful GET with parameter, can be setup within APEX to return this JSON object, then parse this JSON object and return the data as columns within an APEX Collection.

I'm hoping I have provided enough info to work off but if anyone can assist me with any examples or tutorials to assist me with setting this up in APEX, that would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Tony.

• 1. Re: How to Setup a RESTful GET to Return/Parse JSON into an APEX Collection
          Carsten Czarski-Oracle

Hi Tony,

have a look into the 'REST Client Assistant' packaged application. It generates all the PL/SQL and SQL code for you. The 'Sample REST Services' packaged app shows such generated code 'in action'.

I hope that helps

carsten

• 2. Re: How to Setup a RESTful GET to Return/Parse JSON into an APEX Collection
            Kiran Pawar

Hi Tony F.,

Tony F. wrote:

Using Oracle APEX v5.1.1.

Firstly, I just want to say that I am new to the whole RESTful web services and so hoping someone can assist me as to whether this is possible and if so, how to implement this within APEX 5.1.1.

I basically have a URL with a parameter, where I can pass an "empno" as a parameter to this URL that will return me a JSON object of all billing details relating to this empno.