14 Replies Latest reply on Feb 15, 2018 10:54 PM by Gary Graham-Oracle

SQL Developer / Identity Column issue - is this a bug? or am I doing something wrong?

Joe G.

I have been encountering an issue with SQL Developer for several years and it has persisted from previous versions until the current version.

I use the "Edit Table" screen (by right-clicking on a table and clicking Edit) to create and edit my tables. Sometimes I will add an Identity Column of "Type: Column Sequence" to my table (which auto-creates the trigger and sequence to enable auto inserting of consecutive numbers in my table's primary key). But it seems that every so often when I make a small change to a table (a change like deleting an unused column) it resets the Identity Column on my primary key back to "Type: None". I usually only discover this when an insert to that table fails because there is no number inserted into the primary key (because the Identity Column quit working). That's when I go into SQL Developer / Edit table and discover the Identity Column on my primary key has been set back to "Type: None". There is no person doing this, as I am the only one working on these tables.

I cannot figure out if this is a bug, or something about the functionality that I am missing?

It causes me lots of issues when it keeps causing my applications to throw errors. So I would love to figure this out.

Can anyone help?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: SQL Developer / Identity Column issue - is this a bug? or am I doing something wrong?
          thatJeffSmith-Oracle

Version?

I logged a pretty bad bug where togging around the create/edit Table dialog was resetting form properties back to defaults, like your column name would go back to 'column16' if you clicked in and out of the columns page.

• 2. Re: SQL Developer / Identity Column issue - is this a bug? or am I doing something wrong?
            Joe G.

Version 17.4.0.355

Build 355.2349