4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2018 12:03 PM by Confused of Apex

Tree versus IG - how they translate Date Picker output in the where clause

Confused of Apex

Hi 

Background:  I am a long time PL/SQL developer who has recently become 'confused of Apex'! - using Apex 5.1.2

While doing some experimentation with a Tree region some rather confusing things have come up which I wonder if anyone can shed a light on...

Scenario:  A page with 2 date pickers start_date and end_date, a Tree, and an IG - Almost the same SQL in the Tree and IG queries, and that is the issue!

I have assumed that the data provided by the date pickers is actually in string/text format and not an Oracle date type.  This has been borne out by doing various conversions on the output data in PL/SQL to see which works and which excepts.  The weird thing is that the IG and the Tree seem to treat the data differently! The where clause in the IG is:

--Note Date picker format set to 'DD/MM/YYYY'

and ts_entry between to_date(:P210_START_DATE, 'DD/MM/YYYY')

and to_date(:P210_END_DATE, 'DD/MM/YYYY')

Which works fine and produces the correct rows (one note in case it is important is that ts_entry is actually a timestamp).  However the where clause that works in the Tree query is:

and ts_entry between :P210_START_DATE

and :P210_END_DATE

Converting the Tree to the same where clause as the IG results in no rows returned (or at least not displayed), putting the Tree version in the IG returns an Ajax exception:

Ajax call returned server error ORA-01843: not a valid month for

Which would be expected when feeding character data to an expression wanting a string.  So it seems the 2 queries are treating the same data in different ways!  Anyone know why?