6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2018 6:37 PM by John Snyders-Oracle

Simulate a one record per tab application

Barry Brierley

Hi,

I'm trying to do a POC on the Apex cloud demo environment, and trying to wrap my head around how to simulate the below:

In my POC, I'm trying to figure out whether I can replace our ticketing system with an Apex application. I have a fair degree of Apex knowlege and so far I've got an interactive report for my record results, with which I can drill down to a form page showing my record. I can have one record at a time open.

But in the original system, every time you search for a record, it opens the record in a new tab. That way you can have as many tabs as you want. You can save them, close them, whatever. Operators need to have multiple records open at any one time. They search for them one record at a time.

For my POC, It doesn't matter whether each record is displayed in a new tab, a new navigation entry, or I would even settle for multiple pop-up windows (although that isn't as neat and I can't figure out how to do that either). Just as long as we can work with multiple records at a time.

Below is what I have so far. an Interactive report which directs me to the same page every time - so one record at a time.

I don't necessarily need to be shown exactly ow to do it, any ideas of how I would do this conceptually would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Barry

• 1. Re: Simulate a one record per tab application
          Scott Wesley

Some ideas:

Could you have a data driven button group, perhaps styled a little to look like tabs?

https://apex.oracle.com/pls/apex/f?p=42:1204:::NO:::

Or use a menu bar

https://apex.oracle.com/pls/apex/f?p=42:1305:::NO:::

If there is a known max number of selections, you could hijack a region display selector.

• 3. Re: Simulate a one record per tab application
            fac586

3629675 wrote:

Please update your forum profile with a recognisable username instead of "3629675 ".