6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2018 3:09 PM by Christian Berg

New to OBIEE - High level steps

Nayas

Hi All,

I am not sure if it's the correct subspace to post my question.

If it's not, just direct me to the correct one and i'll move there

I am new to OBIEE and trying to understand the high level installation steps.

We use an old OBIEE - OBIA version (11.1.1.6) with Informatica / DAC for our ETL / Scheduling.

To better understand OBIEE, I am doing the installation on my lab but I am unsure about the high level steps.

I am following this Oracle Doc (Link) but it is strickly for the OBIEE part. No references to OBIA / Informatica / DAC.

Is there any order in which Informatica / DAC / OBIEE / OBIA should be install?

For example, for now, I have a data warehouse DB install with the MDS / BIPLATFORM schema created (with RCU) and OBIEE installed (choose Enterprise Install).

Can I simply proceed with Informatica / DAC then OBIA?

Is there any Oracle DOC that describe these high level steps?

Thank you,

Félix

• 1. Re: New to OBIEE - High level steps
          Christian Berg

Install a full OBIA? I'd start with installing OBIEE itself. OBIA is just (questionably well done) content and ETL which doesn't really have a functional dependency to OBIEE. The latter can read anything.

If OBIEE is done then you can install Informatica and then the DAC - here's the doc

https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E35287_01/bia.7964/e35271/windows_ic.htm

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: New to OBIEE - High level steps
            Avinash Pentyala

Yes, You can process with OBIEE, Informatica, DAC and OBIA, for BIA796x installation there was no dependency between  OBIEE and Informatica.

if you want we can install OBIEE and Informatica in different machines.

refer following URL's

https://foursconsultancy.wordpress.com/obia/approach-to-obia-7-9-6-4-install/

https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E35287_01/bia.7964/e35271/windows_ic.htm#i1067646

Regards,

Avinash