13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2019 1:48 PM by mathguy

Goto Menu and Actions

Dude!

I don't know if many people are using the "Go Directly To" menu - I don't, but nevertheless the menu should be correct. It still shows "Oracle Developer Community", which is obsolete and should read "Groundbreakers Community". Speaking of which, the menu might look more professional by removing unnecessary words, like "Community", which only blows up the menu for no good reason.

Who's brilliant idea was it hide to the Actions menu? It took me several seconds trying to figure out how to create a discussion. I suppose anyone not familiar with the interface and not knowing that there "must" be an option may simply conclude this is not the place to post questions.

It's not a good design.

• 1. Re: Goto Menu and Actions
          Dude!

Also, black text on blue is not a good option for text for reasons of contrast. I'm not a web designer, but it's just common wisdom. I think the banner also looks messy with all the different styles, colors and typefaces.

• 2. Re: Goto Menu and Actions
            Dude!

FWIW, maybe you'll find it useful:

Image result for background and text color combinations

• 3. Re: Goto Menu and Actions
              Robert Angel

I find the same with some of the 'We have moved' pages when OTN groundbreaker pages have been moved - and I suspect others do too as recently there was a post for BI Publisher on the OBIEE forum, when I came to tell the poster where they needed to be I found the 'We have moved' which is not remotely helpful as finding the new site is far from obvious, I feel that elements like this and the non-obvious buttons are a causal factor contributing to the decline of the forums!

• 4. Re: Goto Menu and Actions
                Dude!