5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 28, 2006 7:51 PM by Mannamal-Oracle

Oracle RDF Data Model and SNA

Hi,
      i'm a master student and currently I'm working on my master thesis. My thesis is about analysing academic events(conferences, workshops, symposiums) by applying social network analysis methodologies. I got to know about Oracle RDF Data Model and I'm interested to know if this model fits to my application data.
      In general I will have data about:
      EVENTS like name, location, homepage, members,papers, chair, begin_date, end_date etc.,
      PERSONS like name, affilication, homepage etc.
      ARTICLES like tile, authors, reference etc.
      My questions are:
      1) In the documentation: Oracle® Spatial Resource Description Framework (RDF) there exist enough info for RDF data model, but unfortunately is for me still unclear the case when you need to create more than one SDO_RDF_MODEL. Considering my data do I have to create three SDO_RDF_MODEL?
      2) Does the query performance change, if more than one SDO_RDF_MODEL are created?

I'd really appreciate, if I could get an answer. Furthermore, any additional information or comments are welcome.

Best regards,
      Evanela
        • 1. Re: Oracle RDF Data Model and SNA
          Mannamal-Oracle
          Hi,
          Thank you for your interest.

(1) Regarding multiple models, the question is at what granularity you want to query your data. If you frequently query EVENTS, PERSONS and ARTICLES individually, then it might be useful to store them as separate models, so that the amount of data you access during a single query is less. Additionally, if you create a rules index (a rules index is an inferred triple set) on a model and will frequently update that individual model, then separate models might work well (note that in 10gR2 a rules index has to be re-created when the model is updated for complete results).