4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2019 7:38 PM by Blue Bird

Oracle forms on Oracle Express 11gR2?

Blue Bird

Hi to all here,

I have few questions about Oracle Forms as complete beginner here:

1. I never used/install Oracle Forms before and I would like to install Forms version 11 (11.1.2.2.0) and I would like to know if I can install it on Oracle Express 11gR2 database on Windows 10 x64? If I can't, then would be probably better to install never version 12c. Which one do you recommend to install or is necessary? It would be local just to learn to use / explore.

2. Is it easier or harder to install and configure Oracle Forms then Oracle Application Express 5.x?

3. I know APEX 5.x, how to install and use it. If you know both APEX and Forms, can you please give me some short comparison which is easier to learn and use to start something new from scratch?

4. What is long term perspective for Oracle Forms regarding to APEX? I heard that APEX is not the best choice for couple of 100 forms. Is this correct?

5. If I would install for example Oracle 12c on my local PC, can I use both Forms and APEX on the same server at the same time?

6. Can you recommend some good free (for start) web sites for self learning Oracle Forms (videos, tutorials) for complete beginner with forms?

7. Can you recommend me also some other good forums about Oracle Forms other than this, with more active users?

Thank you,

BB

• 1. Re: Oracle forms on Oracle Express 11gR2?
          cormaco
          1. I never used/install Oracle Forms before and I would like to install Forms version 11 (11.1.2.2.0) and I would like to know if I can install it on Oracle Express 11gR2 database on Windows 10 x64? If I can't, then would be probably better to install never version 12c. Which one do you recommend to install or is necessary? It would be local just to learn to use / explore.

Forms Builder is installed on the Client, not in the database.