3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2019 9:37 AM by RichardNapier

Loading and selecting dynamic instances of an object to edit

Aaron Houston - Houston Technologies LLC

All,

I have a few projects that'd like to be able to select multiple dynamically loaded instances of an object (think loading all contacts based on some filter conditions) and associate them to a new object.

A simple way to express this is by the following example:

Let's say I am a manager of a company and need to perform an HR function.

I'd like to submit a ticket to transfer potentially multiple of my employees (the employees I am a manager of) to a new organization within my company.

Can anyone think of an aesthetically pleasing, and efficient way to get this done?

I've already implemented a version of this, but was thinking of revisiting to optimize.

Currently, I've set filter attributes to be collected on one screen throughout the interview where it makes sense, and load the associated "contacts" to be selected on another screen. This then correlates to an inferred entity that allows me to update the instances that I've selected. The inferred entity is wrapped in a rule loop, because the number of instances selected can change, and I have to ensure I've captured each instance.

A previous version of my implementation was essentially dynamically loading each "contact" one at a time by making the "manager" enter a unique identifier first, then displaying each loaded contact on the following screen. It seemed a bit clunky to me so I revised the approach.

I was thinking of extending OPA via javascript to allow the "manager" to do a text search against the contacts table in OSvC via an API call and the text search JS extension example. This would then add the instance of the contact to the entity in OPA.

Any thoughts on an a better way to get this task done?

Regards,

Aaron Houston