5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2019 1:27 PM by fac586

identifying and tagging hyperlinks in a text field

Lee Burgess

Hi, I'm using 18.2.

I have various user entry fields at present which save the value of the text entered.

On update of the record, I require the text to be checked for any valid urls and these urls to be tagged as such so they appear as a link can be opened by the user.

Hope this makes sense - I'm fairly new to APEX so apologies if further clarification required.

• 1. Re: identifying and tagging hyperlinks in a text field
          Franck N

Hi,

should the input file "Description" be editable by the user?

how is the URL being pass tho the Item if dynamic?

regards,

Franck

• 2. Re: identifying and tagging hyperlinks in a text field
            fac586

Lee Burgess wrote:

I have various user entry fields at present which save the value of the text entered.

On update of the record, I require the text to be checked for any valid urls and these urls to be tagged as such so they appear as a link can be opened by the user.

Hope this makes sense - I'm fairly new to APEX so apologies if further clarification required.

What is the purpose of the "Description" column? How long is it? Based on its visible size the idea of it containing more than one "valid URL" looks unlikely.

I would tend toward questioning the data model and/or UI:

• If that page item is an accurate reflection of the expected/permitted length of the "Description" then it is clearly intended to be a single short phrase, and following 1NF it should not contain the URL. The model should provide an additional column for storing a single optional URL associated with it. The application can combine the two values to form HTML link mark-up as required.