10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2019 9:00 AM by Madhusudhan.Meesala

Best Place to Practice On Prem Install and Upgrade

Hi, I am a new Oracle consultant. We are focusing on advising cloud EPM to our clients but we still have some clients who want to upgrade on prem EPM to newer versions. I have started an install on my work computer but I am wondering what the best option would be for me to have an environemt to do this on? I have thought about Oracle Virtual Box, Amazon Web Services, Oracle Compute Cloud Services. I want to see if there is any free options about before i choose.

Thanks. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Mark H

• 1. Re: Best Place to Practice On Prem Install and Upgrade
          JohnGoodwin

If you are looking for free options to run on your local machine and the machine has enough resources then you could look at Virtual Box or if you are running Windows and depending on version then Hyper-V is an option.

If you prefer to run it in the cloud and grow your experience in this area then it is not going to be free but you can always shut down the instance when you are not using it. Take your pick from AWS, Azure or Oracle Cloud infrastructure. Trials are available and each have their own strengths. I have my own preference but I am not here to say which is the best or not like others will

Cheers

John

• 2. Re: Best Place to Practice On Prem Install and Upgrade

Hi John,

I am having trouble with Virtual Box.

I have setup Oracle Compute before and know about the costs. Also, i have made AWS and Google Cloud instances as well. I am just not sure which is best. I want it cheap as possible but easy to use and i find Virtual Box unusual and slow.

Thanks

Mark

• 3. Re: Best Place to Practice On Prem Install and Upgrade
              iArchSolutions-Joe