1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 2, 2020 9:51 AM by RotBlitz

Is DynDNS Pro really for personal use only!?

A little background, before the punch line... I am an IT pro that has been using DynDNS for over a decade. Until recently, I have predominantly been using only the DynDNS clients built into routers. Normally without too many issues. As I'm sure we're all too aware, with current events in the world, regarding COVID-19 and the way in which it has meant the global workforce has only just become more remote. I have had to spend more time than usual, of late, getting people set up to be able to VPN or RDP into their office to work. In some cases, this has ended up with me having to use the Dyn Updater client, which allows me to lock down VPN or RDP endpoints to specific Dyn hosts for user that are tethering (in most cases) through their mobile devices, to get into the work VPN. Please, no lectures about this solution and its appropriateness for this scenario. Believe me, for some people, this is the best outcome for their scenario.

And this is where it gets interesting (for those of you that have stuck around)...

I have noticed that the Dyn Updater seems to show all my DynDNS hosts in every installation of the updater!!!!? This kind of unnecessary exposure just makes me nervous, looks unprofessional and is not the sort of thing you would expect in a professional (commercial) product, as my DynDNS Pro subscription would suggest it is.

So, I raised this issue with the support team, to which they have replied... "Yes, it's by design. The service is meant for personal use."