This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 15, 2006 1:25 AM by 537896 RSS

RFID - Vehicle identification

537896 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,
Firstly, I am not a developer and my detailed knowledge is small although I have access to a development team.

I am leading a project to identify vehicles using passsive RFID tags and a Frieg reader.
Whilst we are comfortable with the technology and principle of passing read data to our main Oracle 9.2.4 database we are unable to figure a way for these read events to prompt a JDE OneWorld Xe application to pick up that data without a user prompting it too. Ideally the read event would trigger the population of the vehicle identity data into the OneWorld application and kick off the application processes with the ulimate aim of automating that process.
Digging around in the Oracle knowledge base I have seen reference to a PL/ SQL callback routine - would this be the way?
If anyone had a similar experience and managed to over come it I would gratefully appreciate your sharing it with me,

Many thanks in anticipation,

Craig
  • 1. Re: RFID - Vehicle identification
    246481 Newbie
    Try http://www.ianywhere.com/
    You can register your free user account and the RFID Middleware allows for simulations as well as connection to any RFID readers, such as Symbol, Aliens, etc.
    If you are using Symbol RFID Readers, you can download SDK from http://www.symbol.com
  • 2. Re: RFID - Vehicle identification
    465157 Newbie
    I'm not 100% sure what your question is.

SES can start PL/SQL commands from eventflow egninee based on predefined RFID reads. Does this solve your problem?

Ron
  • 3. Re: RFID - Vehicle identification
    537896 Newbie
    Ok, a bit more info....