1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Oct 29, 2009 11:37 AM by pablobarreno RSS

ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect des

Hi, i'm new with Oracle. I'm using JDeveloper 10g, when i try to create a database connection with the hr/hr user i get this message:

Listener refused the connection with the following error:
      ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect descriptor
      The Connection descriptor used by the client was:
      localhost:1521:ORCL

Please, if somebpdy could give me a tip, i repeat, i'm new with Oracle. Thanks
        • 1. Re: ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect
          RPuttagunta
          Is the oracle service on your computer?

Can you do this from your command line:

tnsping ORCL;

and paste what you get.

Rahul.

Message was edited by:
          RPuttagunta
          • 2. Re: ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect
            Mohammed Taj
            first wait few minus. n try again
            if problem persist
            then
            post here oracle sid and tnsnames.ora files.
            • 3. Re: ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect
              Eduardo Legatti
              Hi,

Check to make sure that the SID is correct. The SIDs that are currently registered with the listener can be obtained by typing:

LSNRCTL SERVICES on the Server

These SIDs correspond to SID_NAMEs in TNSNAMES.ORA or DB_NAME in the initialization file.

Cheers
              • 4. Re: ORA-12505, TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect
                Rahul: when i type what you told me i get this:

C:\Documents and Settings\Alejandro>tnsping ORCL

TNS Ping Utility for 32-bit Windows: Version 9.2.0.1.0 - Production on 10-OCT-20
                06 01:03:53

Copyright (c) 1997 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

Used parameter files: