14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2020 3:37 PM by Rossoreed

Oracle Linux server v7.8 update node.js to ver 12

Rossoreed

I'm running Oracle Linux Server release 7.8, and need ver 12 of node.js installed for an application.

I currently have nodejs-10.21.0-1 - nodesource.x86_64 already installed, but having followed this guidance, I still can't get ver 12.x despite it being listed in the repo.

$ sudo yum install -y oracle-nodejs-release-el7 oracle-release-el7

Package oracle-nodejs-release-el7-1.0-5.el7.x86_64 already installed and latest version

Package oracle-release-el7-1.0-3.el7.x86_64 already installed and latest version

Nothing to do

$ sudo yum update oracle-nodejs-release-el7

No packages marked for update

$ sudo yum update --disablerepo=ol7_developer_EPEL nodejs

$ node -v

v10.21.0

I'm pretty new to Oracle Linux and it would be great if anyone could help please.

• 1. Re: Oracle Linux server v7.8 update node.js to ver 12
          Avi Miller-Oracle

Try this:

# yum-config-manager --disable ol7_developer_nodejs10
          # yum-config-manager --enable ol7_developer_nodejs12
          # yum update

• 2. Re: Oracle Linux server v7.8 update node.js to ver 12
            Rossoreed

I have just tried that, but it still has not changed anything, I still get node.js v10.21

$ sudo yum-config-manager --disable ol7_developer_nodejs10

- reply was pretty lengthy, but...

$ sudo yum-config-manager --enable ol7_developer_nodejs12

Loaded plugins: langpacks

$ sudo yum update

Loaded plugins: langpacks, ulninfo

$ node -v

v10.21.0

• 3. Re: Oracle Linux server v7.8 update node.js to ver 12
              Avi Miller-Oracle

The yum-config-manager --enable ol7_developer_nodejs12 command should've output as much text as the disable command for ol7_developer_nodejs10.

What's the output of cat /etc/yum.repos.d/oracle-nodejs-ol7.repo on that machine?

You should have this stanza in that file:

[ol7_developer_nodejs12]