3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2008 4:42 PM by Mannamal-Oracle

OWL inference support in 11g and bulk loading problems

I am relatively new to Semantic technologies, so please apologize me if am wrong in my problem statement. My work contains two parts:

Part 1. Building Ontologies(huge) and Persisting them to ORACLE Database.
      Part 2. Making Inferences on these Ontologies within the Database.(not in-memory)

I am using ORACLE 10gR2 and hoping to upgrade to 11g based on the inputs that I get from this reply.

Problems related to part 1:

I am loading the Ontologies into database by using 'getBulkUpdateHandler().add(graph)', where 'graph' is the Ontology that I am currently persisting. But when I am trying to add the same graph again( into the same back-end RDF model), it is duplicating the triples showing the size to be double of the original graph. I expect it not to load the same graph again and again. So is there any way that this redundancy can be controlled. I trie d with 'add(graph, false/true)' also, but the result is same.

Problems related to part 2:

1. Is Inferencing made with in the data base itself ?

2.When can we expect OWL DL and OWL Full inference support in ORACLE( I have read that 11g supports only a subset of OWL entailments) and mean while If I use external reasoners (like those that come with jena or pellet), does it mean that inferences will be made from the databases itself or should they be loaded into main memory(I have tried OWLFullReasoner(In-Memory) in jena to make inferences on a Ontology of 80,0000 triples with 1GB of JVM and it is throwing a out of memory exception after '5' long hours).

So please help me through this.....
        • 1. Re: OWL inference support in 11g and bulk loading problems
          Mannamal-Oracle