10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2008 12:27 PM by 655746 RSS

Authorization  -- Roles

Hi All,

We are moving our applicaiton from Oracle Forms to Apex. I am basically a forms developer and I didnt understand the authorization/roles in Apex.

For eg in our database we have 2 roles app_lookup ( privs - insert,update, delete, select) and app_guest( privs select) . And we use the database authentication for forms. If we have 2 end users Super with role app_lookup and operator with role app_guest, and if I want to implement the database role, how can it be done in Apex.

End user Super ( with all privs) need to update/delete/insert/select in apex
      End user Operator( with only priv select) need to select particular table/pages in apex.

Could someone throw lights on how this can be done in Apex.

thank you

rajesh
        • 1. Re: Authorization  -- Roles
          Denes Kubicek
          Create an Authorization Scheme similar to this:
          DECLARE
             v_group   VARCHAR2 (400) DEFAULT NULL;
          BEGIN
             SELECT HTMLDB_UTIL.get_groups_user_belongs_to (:app_user)
               INTO v_group
               FROM DUAL;

IF INSTR ( v_group, 'TEST_GROUP_1') > 0
             THEN
                RETURN TRUE;
             ELSE
                RETURN FALSE;
             END IF;
          END;
          You can assign an authorization to almost any object. Make sure you check the
          authorization only once per session (if not required to check on each pageview).

The option to assign an authorization to a page or button you will find in page / button
          attributes.

Denes Kubicek
          -------------------------------------------------------------------
          http://deneskubicek.blogspot.com/
          http://www.opal-consulting.de/training
          http://apex.oracle.com/pls/otn/f?p=31517:1
          -------------------------------------------------------------------
          • 2. Re: Authorization  -- Roles