3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2009 2:06 PM by alwu-Oracle

Working with forward-chaining rules indices

I'm just getting started with using 11g's RDF store support. I see in the dev guide that you should insert your triples and then create a rules index. I'm not accustomed to forward chaining; I haven't even used a materialized view. If the rules support was backward chaining (like a common SQL query) then I'd be more comfortable with how to manage the store.

I need to support an RDFS model against a triple store. If I have various processes inserting triples and occasionally querying against the store, do I need to recreate the rules index with a call to SEM_APIS.CREATE_RULES_INDEX after each set of inserts?

If so, is there a recommended practice for effectively managing the rules index? I'm concerned about the time it takes to recreate the index and store the inferred triples since it has to recreate the entire view each time. For example, should I recreate the rules index after each transaction that inserts or deletes triples, or is there a way of recreating the rules index asynchronously with the connection transaction and block queries any queries that come in that want to use the index?

Does anyone know about when incremental maintenance of rules indices will be released? Or perhaps support for backward chaining?

Brian
        • 1. Re: Working with forward-chaining rules indices
          Mannamal-Oracle
          Hi Brian,