This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Jul 26, 2009 7:24 PM by 713988 RSS

Activerecord - issue with DATE and TIMESTAMP fields

696433 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am new to active record so apologies for the newbie question, but I am trying to set it up to access an Oracle database. Please note, this not a rails app and never will be. I want to use JRuby to write dashboard scripts for monitoring an number of back-end ETL data interfaces for which I am primarily responsible.

My config is as follows:

Client PC running Windows
JRuby 1.2.0
Java 1.6.0_07
Oracle driver - ojdbc14.jar
activerecord-2.3.2
activerecord-jdbc-adapter-0.9.1

Remote database hosted on Solaris
Oracle 10.2.03

My problem is that active record is failing to typecast date and time fields at all.

For example, the following cutdown example attempts to access 'RUN_DT' which is defined in the database as a DATE (I am seeing the same issue on TIMESTAMP fields too)...

require 'java'
require 'ojdbc14.jar'

puts "Starting active record"
require 'rubygems'
gem 'activerecord-jdbc-adapter'
require 'jdbc_adapter'
require 'active_record'

puts "Connecting to MXGN"
ActiveRecord::Base.establish_connection(
:adapter => 'jdbc',
:driver => 'oracle.jdbc.OracleDriver',
:url => 'jdbc:oracle:thin:@MYHOST:1550:THEDB',
:username => 'FOO',
:password => 'bar'
)
puts "Running a query"

class TblMigrationWork < ActiveRecord::Base
set_table_name "tblmigrationwork"
end

result = TblMigrationWork.find(:first, :conditions => 'run_id = 1')
puts result.run_dt

Produces....

Starting active record
Connecting to MXGN
Running a query
C:/gems/gems/activerecord-2.3.2/lib/active_record/base.rb:1964:in `method_missing': undefined method `string_to_time' for #<Class:0x755866> (NoMethodError)
from C:/gems/gems/activerecord-jdbc-adapter-0.9.1/lib/jdbc_adapter/jdbc_oracle.rb:58:in `string_to_time'
from C:/gems/gems/activerecord-2.3.2/lib/active_record/attribute_methods.rb:211:in `run_dt'