5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 11, 2009 6:43 AM by Hussein Sawwan-Oracle RSS

R12.1.1 Installation :  Apps GURU's/Experts/AceMembers Please help me:

Hi to all Apps Gurus/Experts/ACEmembers,
      i am new to apps and i need some help and guidance . I want to install Oracle Apps 12.1.1
      The problem is that i have scarcity of space..on my server and laptap.
      hence i want to implement the R12.1.1 using both the laptop and the server.
      my server is having one partition( with approx 80 gb which can be used)
      My Laptop's f: drive has 40GB space.

My Query is,
      is it possible to do the installation in a distributed manner, such that my Application Tier /tools(Front end) are instaled on my Laptop and the Application Server(Middle Tier) and the Database(Backend) are installed on my server machine.
      My Laptop is having Windows XP Professional and Server is Windows2003(32bit).
      If yes,
      how do i create the staging area and go ahead with the installation.

Edited by: user651062 on Jun 11, 2009 12:01 AM

Edited by: user651062 on Jun 11, 2009 12:08 AM
        • 1. Re: R12.1.1 Installation :  Apps GURU's Please help me:
          Hussein Sawwan-Oracle
          Hi,

This type of installation is called multi-node installation and it is possible to do it. If you have downloaded the files from e-Delivery website, just place the files in one directory and extract it, and this will create the stage directory for you. If you have the media, refer to the installation document for the steps. You need to run Rapid Install on the database node first, then on the application tier node.

Note: 405565.1 - Oracle Applications Release 12 Installation Guidelines
          https://metalink2.oracle.com/metalink/plsql/ml2_documents.showDocument?p_database_id=NOT&p_id=405565.1

Release 12.1 Documentation Library
          http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B53825_01/current/html/docset.html

Regards,
          Hussein