6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2009 9:39 AM by 686548

install Oracle 10g with Toad 9.1

Hi All,

I am a novice in database(SQL,PLSQL) programming and hence want to learn and practise very deeply in detail for which i want to install Oracle 10g client with Toad 9.1.So need your advise on the process.

(a)Do i need to download entire Oracle Enterprise Edition Installation for Vista? I have read in one of the forums that downloading only the Oracle Client is enough?

Can you please advise me?

(b)I already have the TOAD 9.1 setup with me which i can install.But,i do not know that how will i use TOAD interface and connect to the oracle database.

(c)Also,any sample script/database with some tables that i can use for learning complex SQL query writing would be very helpful.In brief-any project that i can work on in building all the requirements by writing SQL which simulates real time scenarios of SQL development.

Please help me ,i am struggling.

Thanks
      Dev
        • 1. Re: install Oracle 10g with Toad 9.1
          for (a): Only require Oracle client.
          for (b): After install the Oracle client, you should setup a tns using net configuration assistant. Then use it to connect the oracle database.
          for (c): I have no idea, sorry.
          • 2. Re: install Oracle 10g with Toad 9.1
            hello,
            a)Do i need to download entire Oracle Enterprise
             Edition Installation for Vista? I have read in one of the forums that 
            downloading only the Oracle Client is enough?
            oracle client is software which connect to database and if u do not have database where are you connecting your client then?? so you need to download database either enterprise or standard edition for your OS