5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 5, 2009 11:05 AM by Paul M. RSS

Kindly help with oracle database 10g express edition upgraded to APEX 3.2

Dear All,

I just started learning oracle and for the purpose I installed Oracle Databse 10g Express Edition (XE) Release 2 on my local PC and than I upgraded the Oracle Application Express to 3.2.

The book I am using is "Beginning Oracle Application Express - 2008"
      In the book the author uses

UTILITES > DATA LOAD/UNLOAD > LOAD > Load Spreedsheet Data

Load to : New Table
      Load From : Upload file
      Borwse for File "Order" Microsoft Office Excel Comma Seperated Values File
      Table Name : ORDERS
      Primary Key Column : Create New Column as ORDERS_PK

If this is done with APEX 2.1 it works but with my uprade to 3.2 I get the following error.

"ORA-20001: create_table error: ORA-20001: Excel load run ddl error: ORA-01003: no statement parsed"

I searched every where for this error but to no avail.

Any help will be much appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Kindly help with oracle database 10g express edition upgraded to APEX 3.2
          Paul M.
          "ORA-20001: create_table error: ORA-20001: Excel load run ddl error: ORA-01003: no statement parsed"
          Try granting explicit "create table" privilege to your user. As dba or sysdba :
          SQL> grant create table to <your user>;
          • 2. Re: Kindly help with oracle database 10g express edition upgraded to APEX 3.2
            Dear Paul M.

Thank you very much for answering. I posted the same question on the application express forum. Also posted on the Books forum as well as looked for the error code up in google. Nada.

Please note that I am migrating from MS Access and am knew to oracle. Can you please detail the instructions. I know it's a lot to ask but i am stuck in the beggining of the book for 3 days now.

Thansk in advance.
            • 3. Re: Kindly help with oracle database 10g express edition upgraded to APEX 3.2
              Paul M.