4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 18, 2009 2:58 AM by 706055 RSS

MAX EXTENTS  for a table

Hello Guru's

I am working on oracle express 10 G on windows , This is my test machine. I am a beginner to oracle Dba activities,

Problem:
      I want to restrict the size of a table (say max upto 400k)

My Approach:
      1. I create a Tablepsace with uniform extent size (40K each)
      2. I created a table in this tablespace with max extents 10 ( so that 40K * 10 = 400K)

SCOTT@xe>CREATE TABLESPACE TB
        2   DATAFILE 'F:\Oracle\oradata\XE\TB.DBF' SIZE 100M
        3   EXTENT MANAGEMENT LOCAL
        4   UNIFORM SIZE 40K
        5   ONLINE ;

Tablespace created.

SCOTT@xe> 
      SCOTT@xe>DROP USER G CASCADE ;

User dropped.

SCOTT@xe>CREATE USER G IDENTIFIED BY G DEFAULT TABLESPACE TB ;

User created.

SCOTT@xe>ALTER USER G QUOTA UNLIMITED ON TB;

User altered.

SCOTT@xe>GRANT CREATE SESSION , CREATE TABLE TO G;

Grant succeeded.

SCOTT@xe>CONNECT G/G@xe
      Connected.

G@xe>CREATE TABLE t ( A number) TABLESPACE TB storage (minextents 1 maxextents 10);

Table created.

G@xe>SELECT SEGMENT_NAME, MIN_EXTENTS, MAX_EXTENTS , SEGMENT_TYPE, TABLESPACE_NAME, BLOCKS
        2  FROM USER_SEGMENTS  ;

SEGMENT_NAME                                                                      MIN_EXTENTS MAX_EXTENTS SEGMENT_TYPE       TABLESPACE_NAME                    BLOCKS
      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ----------- ----------- ------------------ ------------------------------ ----------
      T                                                                                           1  2147483645 TABLE              TB                                      5

G@xe>
      Issue is:

I want the maximun extents that could be llocated to this table must be 10 , BUT from user_segments I could see MAX_EXTENTS = 2147483645 (default value).
      When i pump data into this table MAX_EXTENTS exceeds 10 (i.e user Defined value)