1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2011 4:40 PM by user637881

Shared Services Java API

GhostWarrior
      Hello All

I am new to connecting to Shared Services and Im looking for some help on how to create an java API to connect and maintain users / groups in shared services.

We are using version 11.1.1.2 and I have found API documentation, however it is not clear what I actually need to make a connection. I have the samples from the documentation to work with the API calls however it assumes you know how to connect or already have.

Keep in mind this is not an Essbase connection but a connection directly to shared services.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Shared Services Java API
          JohnGoodwin
          Hi,

There is an example of how to authenticate which I am sure you have seen ? [AuthenticateSample.java|http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E12825_01/epm.111/epm_security_api/sampleApps/AuthenticateSample.java]

This extends the [Sample class |http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E12825_01/epm.111/epm_security_api/sampleApps/Sample.java] which you need as a base class,

If you are new then just use the sample class and then extend it, there are other examples and the JavaDocs included in the help.

Cheers

John
          http://john-goodwin.blogspot.com/
          • 2. Re: Shared Services Java API
            GhostWarrior
            Thanks for the prompt response, however I have another question concerning connecting. I am using the 2 sample classes you pointed me to. My question is the system = CSSSystem.getInstance(context, "C://Hyperion/logs"); line. Am I correct in thinking that the url / directory should be pointing where the server is installed and not my local desktop? Does anyone know the proper entry?

Thanks again for your help
            • 3. Re: Shared Services Java API
              JohnGoodwin
              Hi,

It should be the location on the machine where foundation services are installed.

Cheers