7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2009 10:20 AM by sbelcher1504 RSS

Oracle Application Performance Tuning

Jithin
      Hello all,
      Please forgive me if I am asking this in the wrong section.

I am a s/w engineer with 2 years of exp. I have been working as a performance tuning resource for Oracle EBS in my company. The work mostly involved SQL tuning and dealing with indexes etc. In this time I took up interest in DBA stuff and I completed my OCA in Oracle 10g. Now my comany is giving me an oppurtunity to move into an Application DBA team and I am totally confused about it.

Becoming an Apps DBA will mean that the effort I put into the certification in 10g will be of no use. There are other papers for Apps DBA certification. Should I stay put in performance tuning & wait for a Core DBA chance or shall I accept the Apps DBA oppurtunity.

Also, does my exp. in SQL performace tuning hold any value as such with out an exposure to DBA activities?

Kindly guide me in this regards as I am very confused at this juncture.

Regards,
      Jithin
        • 1. Re: Oracle Application Performance Tuning
          Jithin wrote:
          Hello all,
          Please forgive me if I am asking this in the wrong section.

I am a s/w engineer with 2 years of exp. I have been working as a performance tuning resource for Oracle EBS in my company. The work mostly involved SQL tuning and dealing with indexes etc. In this time I took up interest in DBA stuff and I completed my OCA in Oracle 10g. Now my comany is giving me an oppurtunity to move into an Application DBA team and I am totally confused about it.

Becoming an Apps DBA will mean that the effort I put into the certification in 10g will be of no use. There are other papers for Apps DBA certification. Should I stay put in performance tuning & wait for a Core DBA chance or shall I accept the Apps DBA oppurtunity.

Also, does my exp. in SQL performace tuning hold any value as such with out an exposure to DBA activities?