1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: Oct 8, 2009 5:04 AM by Dom Brooks RSS

Multiple select statements in PL/SQL

Hi All

I am new to PL/SQL and my experience is in writing TSQL. There we can write a SQL statement like this to return 3 result set

SELECT empname FROM Employee
      SELECT authname FROM Author
      SELECT athname FROM sport

how can we write the same 3 statements in PL/SQL and attain the 3 resultsets.
      I tried to implement the same using PL/SQL anonymous blocks. But it didn't worked.

DECLARE
      P_RECORDSET OUT SYS_REFCURSOR
      BEGIN
      OPEN P_RECORDSET FOR
      SELECT empname FROM Employee;
      SELECT authname FROM Author;
      SELECT athname FROM sport;
      END;

can anybody show how it can be done.

Thanks in advance
      George

Edited by: user6290570 on Sep 16, 2009 11:23 PM
        • 1. Re: Multiple select statements in PL/SQL
          ravikumar.sv
          SELECT empname FROM Employee union
          SELECT authname FROM Author union 
          SELECT athname FROM sport 
          Are you asking for finding union or union all of the data...??

Ravi Kumar
          • 2. Re: Multiple select statements in PL/SQL
            No i just want to select 3 result sets from 3 select statements, so that it is helpful to compare the resultsets.
            This is mostly useful when we are trying to write JOIN select statements from multiple tables.
            It can be done with SQL server query analyser, just write 3 independent select statements
            then run. UNION leads to return as a single resultset.

Edited by: george2009 on Sep 18, 2009 2:01 AM
            • 3. Re: Multiple select statements in PL/SQL
              you need 3 cursors:
              DECLARE
              P_RECORDSET_1  SYS_REFCURSOR;
              P_RECORDSET_2  SYS_REFCURSOR;
              P_RECORDSET_3  SYS_REFCURSOR;
              BEGIN
              OPEN P_RECORDSET_1 FOR
              SELECT empname FROM Employee;